Me

I love to paint. I love to read daily painting blogs - but never contribute... because I simply don't have the time to paint daily!

So - I decided: when I get A Chance to Paint, I will share and hopefully improve following comments and advice from others!

Friday, 17 October 2014

Missing the Paint

Feeling the need to do something painterly.

It's been a while.

 

 

Sunday, 24 August 2014

Friday, 22 August 2014

Wednesday, 23 July 2014

Sunday, 13 July 2014

Friday, 11 April 2014

No more acrylics in portraits!

The frustration has finally gotten to me! I'm fed up of paints drying out! So. I'm off to start again in oil. 

--

Sunday, 30 March 2014

Mothering Sunday Waves!

One for mum on Mothering Sunday!
Acrylic from a photo. 


--

Sunday, 2 March 2014

March Sky - At Sea

Didn't enjoy doing this one much!! Tacky acrylic not doing what I wanted! #skymarch



--

Sunday, 23 February 2014

Portrait - Katie B

For the first time I created a grisaille before even thinking of colour and what a difference it made when painting! 

I'm pretty pleased with this one. However, I'm never sure about the hair. The mid tone is ok I think (burnt sienna and sap green) but the highlights aren't great. Maybe the brush I'm using. I never feel happy with hair!

The background is always a tricky one too. Blue seems ok here - recedes I think. Could that be better too? Probably. 


--
Paul

Saturday, 22 February 2014

Need to Use Oils

I love painting portraits -but I think using acrylics is limiting. Edges are too hard and blending is tough... time to make a change?

--
Paul

Thursday, 20 February 2014

Before the Storm - Landscape

I've been looking at Barry Hilton's work and love the mood he creates in his paintings.

This one has made it onto the wall at home. It's awaiting a varnish. 


--
Paul

What Will Follow...

My aim is to post my paintings as they come - maybe work in progress too. I will reference artists who are influencing my work.

I'll be honest, I'm very nervous about sharing like this... but I do want to improve! So - off we go!